Curated by Margarita und Christian Holle

Opening at 6pm, 23rd November 2018

Grosse Bleichen 34

20354 Hamburg


Exhibiting Artists:

Felix Baxmann, Stefan Bircheneder, Viola Bittl, Sven Drühl,
Lukasz Chrobok, Tim Freiwald, Martin Gremse, Vivian Greven, Isabelle Heske, Janus Hochgesand,
Steffen Kern, Anselm Kiefer, Daniel Knorr, Ruth May, Anselma Murswiek, David O‘Kane, Irina Ojovan, Magnus Plessen,
Carlos Sagrera, Nico Sawatzki, Florian Schmidt, Bettina Scholz, Stefan Strumbel, Robert Sturmhoevel,
Clemens Tremmel, Malte van de Water, Alicia Viebrock, Ulla von Brandenburg,
David Benedikt Wirth, Andrea Zabric, Natalia Załuska

‘New Irish Creatives’

Curated by Sheena Malone

Selected by Dr. Katja Blomberg (Director, Haus am Waldsee) & Seán Kissane (Curator of Exhibitions, Irish Museum of Modern Art)

Opening at 7pm, 8th November 2018

Irish Embassy in Berlin

Jägerstraße 51

10117 Berlin


Officially opened by Ambassador Michael Collins
with speeches by Sheena Malone and Adrian O'Sullivan and a talk by Seán Kissane

On the 8th of November the New Irish Creatives Festival was launched with the opening of the New Irish Creatives Exhibition.
In cooperation the Irish Museum of Modern Art Plattenbaustudio was announced as the winner of the Visual Arts Award 2018

Exhibiting artists shortlisted for the Visual Arts Award 2018:


Carol Anne McGowan

Enda O'Donoghue
David O'Kane

Nadine Stewart


Opening at 6pm, 23rd November 2018

17th September – 13th October 2018

Chapter II

54, Donggyo-ro 27 gil



Exhibiting Artists:

Gabriel Acevedo, Koen van den Broek, HeeSeung Chung,
Max Frisinger, Liam Gillick, Yuichi Hirako, Germaine Kruip, David O'Kane,
Annaïk Lou Pitteloud, Peter Stichbury, Yan Tomaszewski

‘MdbK meets G2’ (Painting from Leipzig since 2000)

5th July – 25th November 2018

Museum der bildenden Künste Leipzig

Katharinenstraße 10

04109 Leipzig


David O'Kane, Henriette Grahnert, Rosa Loy, Jochen Plogsties, Neo Rauch, Johannes Rochhausen,
Hans Aichinger, Tilo Baumgärtel, Sebastian Gögel, Paule Hammer, Franziska Holstein, Aris Kalaizis, Martin Kobe,
Christoph Ruckhäberle, Rigo Schmidt, Matthias Weischer, Katrin Heichel, Julius Hofmann, Uwe Kowski, Peter Krauskopf,
Ulf Puder, Julia Schmidt, David Schnell, Kristina Schuldt, Robert Seidel and Mirjam Völker

The new ‘MdbK meets …’ series is based on the idea of local networks, the focus lies upon links to Leipzig collectors and collections.
The series begins with ‘MdbK meets G2’, which unites works from the Museum der bildenden Künste Leipzig and Hildebrand Collection (G2 Kunsthalle Leipzig). The exhibition shows how the pieces of two collections can complement one another, establishing an exciting relationship.

All of the paintings on show have been created since 2000, by artists who studied at the Academy of Fine Arts Leipzig. One piece respectively from the museum and the Hildebrand Collection by Henriette Grahnert, Rosa Loy, Jochen Plogsties, Neo Rauch and Johannes Rochhausen form a pair of pictures. The MdbK has also added paintings by Hans Aichinger, Tilo Baumgärtel, Sebastian Gögel, Paule Hammer, Franziska Holstein, Aris Kalaizis, Martin Kobe, Christoph Ruckhäberle, Rigo Schmidt and Matthias Weischer, whilst the Hildebrand Collection contributes works from artists including Katrin Heichel, Julius Hofmann, Uwe Kowski, Peter Krauskopf, David O'Kane, Ulf Puder, Julia Schmidt, David Schnell, Kristina Schuldt, Robert Seidel, Mirjam Völker.

With this selection of works the ‘MdbK meets G2’ aims to reflect the rich spectrum of Leipzig painters, whilst also taking a critical look at the internationally-known but often misused term ‘New Leipzig School’. In a cross-generational approach, artists born between the early 1960s and the 1980s are contextualised with one another. The range of styles extends from photo realism to expressive gestural painting strategies. Recently acquired by Steffen Hildebrand, the painting ‘Der Übergang’ (2018) by Neo Rauch is presented in public for the first time. The second work by Rauch on display, ‘Fell’, from the year 2000, is owned by the MdbK. Hans Aichinger’s painting ‘History of Violence’ (2011) is a gift of the private collector to the MdbK from 2014 and represents the affiliation and amicable co-operation of both institutions.

'Das ganze Programm  [Please Allow Me to Introduce Myself ...]'

14th April – 19th May 2018
Spinnerei Rundgang in Leipzig at the Josef Filipp Galerie.

A kaleidoscopic group exhibition with work by 16 artists represented by the Josef Filipp Galerie.
Artwork by the following artists will be on display:

Matias Bechtold, Georg Brückmann, Martín Daiber,
Wolfgang Ellenrieder, Rayk Goetze, Peter Hock, Sebastian Hosu,
Alexander König, Verena Landau, Fabian Lehnert, Klara Meinhardt, David O´Kane,
Eamon O´Kane, Claudia Rößger, Rosi Steinbach, Thomas Steinert,

Two paintings by David O'Kane have been acquired by Busan Museum of Art in South Korea.

'Der stinknormale Mann'

27th October 2017 – 18th March 2018

A group exhibition exploring notions of masculinity and gender identity in the 21st Century.
Curated by Denise Ackermann and Frank Eckhardt.

The exhibition features artwork by
Leif Borges, Thilo Droste, Thomas Florschuetz, Saeed Foroghi,
Apostolos Georgiou, Patrycja German, Marcel Götz, Şakir Gökçebağ,
Frank Herrmann, Andrey Kezzyn, Julia Kuzminsk, Nils Mollenhaue, Guy Ben-Ner,
David O‘Kane, Ursula Palla, Stephan Popella, Daniel Rode, Marten Schädlich,
Sebastian Schrader, Klaus Weber